Minutes of the special **Committee of the Whole** meeting held on Wednesday, February 24, 2021, at 10:11 a.m. at the Royal Canadian Legion, 20 Jeffrey Street, Bridgetown, in accordance with the Direction of the Minister under a Declared State of Emergency [updated July 29, 2020 (*see attached*)]

Present: District 1 – Bruce Prout, present

District 2 - Brian "Fuzzy" Connell, present District 3 - Alan Parish, Warden, present District 4 - Clyde Barteaux, present District 5 - Lynn Longmire, present District 6 - Alex Morrison, present

District 7 – David Hudson, present

District 8 – Michael Gunn, Deputy Warden, present

District 9 – Wendy Sheridan, present District 10 – Brad Redden, present District 11 – Diane Le Blanc, present

Also Present: A/CAO Louis Coutinho, Municipal Clerk Carolyn Young, other staff (D. Campbell, A. Dunphy, S. McInnis, H. Orde, and G. Price).

Warden Parish noted this meeting was called so that council could receive information and updates on the Basinview Centre. He noted that no decisions will be made at this meeting, and that more discussion will take place at the regular March Committee of the Whole meeting.

<u>Re: Basinview Centre</u> – The Warden turned the meeting over to Steve McInnis, who presented a PowerPoint report on the Basinview Centre, highlighted as follows:

- Background
- Summary of Findings (JS Held)
- Operating Cost History
- Options
- Considerations
- Various Cost Estimates
- Re-Investment Plan

Councillors asked many questions and good discussion was held.

Adjournment

Upon motion of Councillors Sheridan and LeBlanc, the special meeting of Committee of the Whole adjourned at 12:02 p.m.

Warden	Municipal	Clerk

Direction of the Minister under a Declared State of Emergency

(Section 14 of the *Emergency Management Act*) 20-008

Under my authority in Section 14 of the Emergency Management Act, I order that this Direction (20-008) repeal and replace the Direction regarding municipal meetings issued on March 22, 2020.

During the Provincial State of Emergency declared on March 22, 2020, and under the authority provided to me in Section 14 of the Emergency Management Act, in addition to any other directives I have issued and not repealed or otherwise terminated, I direct that all municipalities and villages in the Province:

- 1. **Effective at 8am on July 29, 2020**, may hold meetings exclusively in person if all the following conditions are met:
- i) the total number of persons present does not exceed a gathering limitation imposed in a *Health Protection Act* order;
- ii) all physical distancing requirements or other requirements imposed in a *Health Protection Act* order are met.
- 2. If the conditions set out in (1) cannot be met, the municipality or village must not hold meetings exclusively in person and must instead hold the meeting partly or wholly as a virtual meeting by video or telephone, and ensure that all of the following conditions are met:
- i) the total number of persons present for any in person portion of the meeting does not exceed a gathering limitation imposed in a *Health Protection Act* order; and
- ii) for any in person portion of the meeting, all physical distancing requirements or other requirements imposed in a *Health Protection Act* order are met.

For clarity, this direction does not apply to statutorily required meetings of electors for a village commission which are covered under Direction 20-007 issued on May 20, 2020.

Despite this direction, municipalities and villages are still authorized to continue making other operational decisions especially those required for service delivery.

Please note that these directions are in addition to any requirements established in a Medical Officer's order under the *Health Protection Act*.

A failure to comply with this direction could result in a summary conviction with fines between \$500 to \$10,000 for individuals and up to \$100,000 for a corporation per incident.

This direction will remain in place for the duration of the Provincial State of Emergency unless it is terminated in writing by me earlier.

Dated July 29, 2020.

Original signed by

Hon. Chuck Porter Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing