2016 Annapolis County Volunteer Awards Recipents

Volunteers are truly the heart of our towns, villages and communities across Annapolis County. These volunteers are people who have the common goal to make a difference in their communities and enrich their own lives by giving of their own time and skills. Together, they help to make our communities stronger, healthier and more vibrant. Volunteer efforts can be seen on a daily basis around Annapolis County, in our community halls, churches, hospital/health centre, schools, volunteer organizations, boards, sport and recreation groups and facilities.

Volunteering is a great way for people of all ages to meet new friends, learn and share skills or talents, gain work experience, help build their resume, help develop their community and, most of all, have fun while enriching the lives of others!

Each year, the County of Annapolis in partnership with the Town of Annapolis Royal and the Town of Middleton ask local organizations to nominate deserving people who dedicate countless hours of their time and energy helping their communites. Upon receipt of these nominations, a Selection Committee is arranged and four individuals are chosen to represent the County of Annapolis and the Towns during the Annual Provincial Volunteer Ceremony held each year in Halifax.

Congratulations to the 2016 Provincial Representatives: 

County of Annapolis representatives:

Rianna Lewis       (nominated by Bridgetown Regional High School)     
Maureen Publow (nominated by Barbelles Fitness & Wellness; Bridgetown Chamber of Commerce and Bridgetown Lions Club)
Town of Annapolis Royal representative:

Harry Jost (nominated by Town of Annapolis Royal)

Town of Middleton representative:

Brad Reid (nominated by Town of Middleton)

Congratulations goes out to all our 2016 Annapolis County Volunteer Awards reicipients:

Youth Volunteers:



Ryean Emmett

Lawrencetown Youth Arena

Kayla Gillespie

Town of Middleton (also nominated for the Provincial Youth Volunteer Award)

Natasha Henry

Fundy YMCA

Trent Guilbault

Lawrencetown Youth Arena

Jarid Naugler

Lawrencetown Youth Arena

Community Volunteers:



John Bottomley

Tobeatic Mersey Research Institute

Deborah Bowes-Lyon

Bridgetown Area Garden Club

Bette Bruce

Companion Animal Protection Society

Steve Campbell

Clean Annapolis River Project

Clo Carey

Bridgetown Area Friends of the Library

Tim Clayton

Western Valley Minor Hockey Association

Dr. Jody Cunningham Annapolis County 4-H Leader's Council

Mike Fearon

Annapolis Area Board of Trade

Gordon (Gord) Ferris

Annapolis County Ground Search and Rescue

Sandra (Sandy) Ford

Maitland Bridge Community Hall Society

Sarah Graves-Robicheau

Bridgetown Community Recreation Association

Christine Igot

Friends of the Annapolis Pool Society

Velma Keevil

King’s Theatre Society

Mark MacFadyen


Tremaine Martyn

Wilmot Community Centre

Jim McGinis

Annapolis Heritage Society

Elizabeth McMichael

Annapolis Basin Conference Centre

Danny Phinney

Annapolis County Trails Society

Reg Piggot

Annapolis Valley Exhibition

Brian Reid

Village of Lawrencetown Commission

Lisa Ring

St. James Anglican Church, Bridgetown

Gordon Rodgers

Police Advisory Board

David Roscoe

Lawrencetown Youth Arena

Deborah Rosso-Peck

Fundy YMCA

Betty Ruggles

Annapolis Royal Nursing Home

Andrew (Andy) Sharpe

Annapolis Royal Volunteer Fire Department

Pictures are in the order listed above. Missing from the photos  - Jarid Naugler, Tim Clayton, Mike Fearon, Sarah Garves-Robicheau, Jim McGinis and Lisa Ring.

County Video Channel
Events Calendar
Lost Missing Pets